You are here
Home > Rules and Play > How Does Scoring Work in Rugby?

How Does Scoring Work in Rugby?

In rugby, there are several ways for a team to score points. The most common ways to score are through tries, conversions, penalty kicks, and drop goals.

Ways to score in rugby

Here are the four ways to score in Rugby Union matches.

Tries – 5 points

A try is scored when a player grounds the ball over the opposition’s goal line. A try is worth five points.

Conversions – 2 points

After a team scores a try, they have the opportunity to kick a conversion. The conversion is taken from a spot in line with where the try was scored, and it must pass between the goalposts and over the crossbar. A successful conversion is worth two points.

Penalty kicks – 3 points

A penalty kick is awarded to a team when the opposition commits a serious foul or infringement. The team can choose to kick for goal, and if the kick is successful, they are awarded three points.

Drop goals – 3 points

A drop goal is scored when a player drops the ball onto the ground and kicks it through the goalposts during open play. A drop goal is worth three points.

Drop goal3
Rugby point system

How many points are scored in an average rugby match?

The average score of a rugby game can vary depending on the level of competition and the teams involved. In professional rugby, the average score can be around 25-30 points per team, but this can vary greatly depending on the specific match and the playing styles of the teams.

What position scores the most points in rugby?

The fly-half typically scores the most points in rugby. This position is responsible for kicking for goal and converting tries, as well as directing the team’s attack and making strategic decisions on the field.

Fly-halves have a key role in converting scoring opportunities into points, and they are often considered the playmakers of the team. A skilled fly-half can be a valuable asset to a team, as they can create scoring opportunities with their passing and running abilities, as well as their kicking.

Tries can also be scored by players in the backline or forwards, and penalties or drop goals can be scored by any player who has the ability to kick accurately.

Scoring in Rugby Union compared to Rugby Union

While rugby union and rugby league share many similarities, there are some differences in their points systems. In rugby union, a try is worth 5 points, while in rugby league, it is worth 4 points. Additionally, in rugby union, a conversion is worth 2 points, while in rugby league, it is worth only 1 point.

In rugby union, a successful penalty kick is worth 3 points. However, in rugby league, a penalty kick is worth 2 points.

Lastly, a drop goal is worth 3 points in Union, but only 1 point in rugby league.

TypeRugby UnionRugby League
Drop goal31
Rugby point system

Rugby Union vs Rugby Sevens scoring

In both Rugby Union and Rugby Sevens, points are awarded for scoring tries, conversions, penalty goals, and drop goals. The value of each type of score is the same in both formats.

In the event of a successful penalty try in sevens, the team that benefits from it is given seven points outright, without requiring a conversion kick.

Wrapping up

In conclusion, the points system is a fundamental aspect of rugby, and understanding how points are awarded is essential for players and fans alike. While the scoring system is largely similar in most leagues, there are some minor differences in the value of tries, conversions, and penalty kicks.

Nonetheless, the basic principles remain the same: the more points a team scores, the better their chances of winning.

Thanks for reading!

Tim Ryan
Tim Ryan was a college rugby player and remains an avid rugby fan. He loves watching, talking, and writing about rugby. His favorite rugby tournaments to watch are the World Cup and Six Nations.